Skip to Content
  • 2012

    The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (“CMS”) just released the new quality reporting codes, categorized as “G-Codes.” All ASCs are required to include these codes in all Medicare claim forms starting on October 1, 2012. The codes denote whether the patient suffered a burn, fall, other wrong including a wrong site, side, patient, procedure or implant event. Other items are included as well.

    Failure to include the G-Code in claim form will subject an ASC to reduction in Medicare reimbursements.

    More information and an explanation of the quality reporting codes from CMS can be found on the CMS website, which also includes the specific G-Codes:

    Questions or Comments? Contact Us at:
    Gibbs, Giden, Locher, Turner & Senet, LLP
    1880 Century Park East, Suite 1200
    E-mail: or call (310) 552-3400

    by Richard E. Haskin, Esq

    The content contained herein is published online by Gibbs, Giden, Locher, Turner & Senet LLP (“GGLTS”) for informational purposes only, may not reflect the most current legal developments, verdicts or settlements, and does not constitute legal advice. Do not act on the information contained herein without seeking the advice of licensed counsel. For specific questions about any of the content discussed herein or any of the content posted to this website please contact the article attorney author or send an email to The transmission of information on this, the GGLTS website, or any transmission or exchange of information over the Internet, or by any of the included links is not intended to create and does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. For a complete description of the terms of use of this website please see the Legal Notices section below.

    This publication may not be reproduced or used in whole or in part without written consent of the firm.

    Copyright 2012 Gibbs, Giden, Locher, Turner & Senet LLP